The Glamorgan-Gwent Archaeological Trust
Historic Environment Record
 

The following information has been provided under the terms and conditions of access as detailed on GGAT’s website www.ggat.org.uk.  Copyright is reserved on all data supplied by the GGAT HER Charitable Trust. All output resulting from the use of the data must acknowledge the source as follows:-
Derived from information held by the GGAT HER Charitable Trust copyright.

The data below is intended to be used for information and research only and is not for use as part of a commercial project.  If you wish to use information derived from material held by the GGAT HER Charitable Trust for publication in printed or multimedia form or to compile resources for commercial use, prior permission must be obtained in writing. For further information or to arrange a visit to the Trust please send an enquiry form http://www.ggat.org.uk/her/english/enquiry_form.html to her@ggat.org.uk.

Abersychan Limestone Railway

Primary Reference Number (PRN) : 07226g
Trust : Glamorgan Gwent
Site Type : Trackway
Period : Post-Medieval
Community : Abersychan
NGR : SO2819904626
Legal Protection : scheduled ancient monument

Summary :
Former route of the Abersychan Limestone Railway. Constructed c. 1830 to carry limestone westwards from Cwm Lascarn quarry to the British Ironworks. Of special historic interest given its unique status in South
Wales as it was constructed of wrought-iron fish-belly rails as opposed to the usual plate rails or
cast-iron bars.

Description :
Previously identified as a trackway, this is the former route of the Abersychan Limestone Railway. Constructed c. 1830 to carry limestone westwards from Cwm Lascarn quarry to the British Ironworks. Of special historic interest given its unique status in South
Wales as it was constructed of wrought-iron fish-belly rails as opposed to the usual plate rails or
cast-iron bars. Thought to be abandoned by 1876, its route can be followed along Lodge Road,
Foundry Road, Union Street, Broad Street and Station Street to Ffrwd Road and along a footpath through Lascarn Woods. Approximately 55% of the tramroad still survives in varying condition (see condition description for full details). Surviving features include stone blocks and revetment (Roberts and Jones 2006).

Trackway, presumably in use as a tramway for horse drawn vehicles in 19thC. Meets course of FE road, S through Lasgarn Woods.

Sources :
Roberts, R. Jones, C. , 2006 , Southeast Wales Industrial Ironworks Landscape Year 2: transport networks
/Desc Text/CADW/2007/Ancient monuments and archaeological areas act
01/Desc Text/Cadw/New Entry to the schedule of monuments/2007/Copy in further information file.

Events :
E001985 : Field visit AbersychanLimestone Railway (year : 2005)
E000956 : Southeast Wales Industrial Ironworks- Transport Networks (year : 2006)

Related PRNs : 02515g, 09407g


July 31, 2014, 3:20 am - HTML file produced from GGAT HER Charitable Trust Ltd. Heathfield House, Heathfield, Swansea SA1 Tel. 01792 655208; Fax 01792 474469 website: www.ggat.org.uk  email: her@ggat.org.uk Registered Charity no. 505609
Data supplied by in partnership with Local Authorities, Cadw and the partners of ENDEX © GGAT HER Charitable Trust, 2014 (and in part © Crown, 2014).